top of page

Drawing Reese Witherspoon in Graphite - A Challenge and a Triumph - Female vs Male Faces in Graphite

Updated: Nov 29, 2023



Drawing faces is one of the most challenging and rewarding aspects of art. There are so many subtle differences and nuances that make each face unique and expressive. However, drawing faces also comes with its own set of struggles and frustrations, especially when it comes to drawing female vs male faces in graphite.

One of the main challenges I face when drawing female vs male faces is the level of detail and shading. Female faces tend to have softer features and smoother skin, which means less contrast and more blending. Male faces tend to have sharper features and rougher skin, which means more contrast and less blending. This can make a huge difference in how realistic and attractive the face looks.


Here is a video of me trying a block in for the first time:


For example, when I was drawing Reese Witherspoon, I had to be very careful with how much detail and shading I added to her face. I wanted to capture her delicate bone structure, her bright eyes, her cute nose, and her full lips. I also wanted to show her freckles and wrinkles, but not too much that they would make her look older or less feminine. I had to use a light touch with my graphite pencil and a soft brush to create smooth transitions and gradients.


Here's a video of me adding the details to her face:


On the other hand, when I draw male faces, I have to be more bold and confident with my strokes and shading. I want to show their strong jawline, their prominent cheekbones, their deep-set eyes, and their defined lips. I also want to show their stubble, their scars, and their wrinkles. I have to use a darker pencil and a harder brush to create sharp edges and contrasts.

Another challenge I face when drawing female vs male faces is the shape and proportion of the face. Female faces tend to have rounder and narrower shapes, while male faces tend to have squarer and wider shapes. Female faces also tend to have smaller features and larger eyes, while male faces tend to have larger features and smaller eyes. This can affect how realistic and attractive the face looks as well.

For example, when I was drawing Reese Witherspoon, I had to pay attention to the shape and proportion of her face. She has a heart-shaped face with a narrow chin and a wide forehead. She also has small features and large eyes that give her a youthful and innocent look. I had to make sure that her face was not too long or too wide, that her chin was not too pointy or too flat, that her forehead was not too high or too low, that her eyes were not too close or too far apart, that her nose was not too big or too small, and that her lips were not too thin or too thick.


Here's a Timelapse video of the full portrait:


On the other hand, when I draw male faces, I have to pay attention to the shape and proportion of their face as well. They usually have a square-shaped face with a wide jawline and a narrow forehead. They also have large features and small eyes that give them a masculine and rugged look. I have to make sure that their face was not too short or too long, that their jawline was not too weak or too strong, that their forehead was not too narrow or too wide, that their eyes were not too big or too small, that their nose was not too flat or too prominent, and that their lips were not too full or too thin.

Drawing female vs male faces in graphite is a rewarding but challenging task. It requires a lot of observation, practice, patience, and skill. However, it also allows me to express my creativity and appreciation for the beauty and diversity of human faces.

I hope you enjoyed reading about my struggles of drawing female vs male faces in graphite while drawing Reese Witherspoon.


 Also,I want to express my sincere gratitude to each and every one of you for taking the time to explore my recent blog post. Your engagement and support mean the world to me. If you've been captivated by the featured drawing or any other pieces showcased on my website, they are available for purchase. Additionally, I welcome the opportunity to create a custom piece just for you. If you have a specific vision or if there's someone special you'd like me to draw, feel free to reach out. You can contact me via email at artbymikelsean@gmail.com. Your interest and enthusiasm fuel my passion for art, and I look forward to the possibility of turning your creative ideas into beautiful, personalized works. Thank you once again for being a part of my artistic journey. 

  

Warm regards, 

Mikel Sean 

2 views0 comments

© 2023 by Art by Mikel Sean

bottom of page