top of page

Drawing Santa Claus with Graphite



Portrait of Santa Claus
Santa Claus in Graphite

Hello, dear readers! Today I want to share with you one of my recent drawings. It is a portrait of Santa Claus. This drawing was inspired by my son who asked me to draw Santa Claus. Who am I to say no?


I wanted to challenge myself with this drawing, and try to create a realistic portrait of the legendary Santa Cluas. Here is how I created this drawing:


Sketching the Outline:

The first step was to sketch the outline of the figure using the envelope and Reilly methods. These are methods that I learned from studying the works of master artists and videos on YouTube. They helped me to learn how to draw more accurately and dynamically.


envelope and Reilly methods of Santa Portrait
First Step of Santa Claus Portrait


The envelope method is a way of drawing a simple shape that contains the main features of the subject. The Reilly method is a way of adding curves and rhythms to the envelope to make it more organic and dynamic.


I used these methods to sketch the shape of the hat, the suit, the hair, and the beard. I also drew a rough outline of the face by using the Reilly method.


Applying the Values:

The second step was to apply the values to the drawing using the 5 value system. This is a system that I learned from reading books and watching videos about drawing. It helps me to create contrast and depth in the drawing.




5 Value System in Santa Portrait
Second Step of Santa Claus Portrait

The 5 value system is a way of dividing the tones of a drawing into five categories: white, light, middle, dark, and black. This helps to create contrast and depth in the drawing.


I used a range of pencils from HB to 4B to create the values. I started with the lightest values and gradually added darker ones. I paid attention to the light source, which was coming from the top right, and the shadows, which were cast on the left side of the figure.


Blending and Highlighting:

The third step was to blend the graphite with a stump, a tool made of compressed paper that can smooth out the pencil strokes. I used the stump to create a soft and realistic texture for the hat, the suit, the hair, and the beard.


I also used erasers to add highlights to the drawing. I used a kneaded eraser, which can be shaped into different forms, to lift off some graphite and create lighter areas. I used a white eraser, which can erase more precisely, to create sharper edges and details. I also used a Tombow Mono Zero eraser for the small details.


Adding the Final Details:

The final step was to draw the viewers eyes to the image by using black and white paint pens. I used the black paint pen to color in the pupils of the eyes, making them appear deep. I used the white paint pen to draw even more attention to the eyes, by adding highlights in the pupils. It made them bright and shiny, creating a contrast with the rest of the drawing.


I hope you enjoyed this blog post and learned something from it. I had a lot of fun creating this drawing. What do you think of my drawing? Do you have any questions or comments? Let me know in the comment section below. And don't forget to subscribe to my blog for more art-related posts. Thank you for reading and happy holidays! 🎄


 Special Thanks:

I want to express my sincere gratitude to each and every one of you for taking the time to explore my blog post. Your engagement and support means the world to me. If you've been captivated by the featured drawing or any other pieces showcased on my website, they are available for purchase. Additionally, I welcome the opportunity to create a custom piece just for you. If you have a specific vision or if there's someone special you'd like me to draw, feel free to reach out. You can contact me via email at artbymikelsean@gmail.com. Your interest and enthusiasm fuels my passion for art, and I look forward to the possibility of turning your creative ideas into beautiful, personalized works. Thank you once again for being a part of my artistic journey. 

  

Warm regards, 

Mikel Sean 

Recent Posts

See All

© 2023 by Art by Mikel Sean

bottom of page