top of page

Improving My Drawing Skills by Drawing a Graphite Portrait of Carrie Underwood

Updated: Nov 29, 2023


Hand Dawn Portrait of Carrie Underwood
Graphite Portrait of Carrie Underwood

I've always loved to draw, but I've always felt like I could be better. I've been trying to improve my skills for a while now, and I recently decided to challenge myself by drawing a graphite portrait of Carrie Underwood.

I knew this would be a difficult challenge, but I was up for the task. I started by gathering some reference photos of Carrie Underwood. I wanted to make sure I had a good understanding of her facial features and proportions before I started drawing.

My Reference Photo:

Photo of Carrie Underwood
Carrie Underwood

Once I had my reference photo, I started sketching out the basic shape of her face. I used a light touch so that I could easily erase any mistakes. Once I was happy with the basic shape, I started adding the basic shapes of the body and hair. Next, I gave the drawing a first layer of value by using a light shade of grey by using a H pencil. while doing so, I was making sure to pay close attention to the proportions.


Here's a video of me doing this step:







Here's a photo of this step finished:

Carrie Underwood Block In
Block In of Carrie Underwood

For the next step, I started adding in two

more values. I used HB and B pencils to create the different levels of darkness. I also used a soft paint brush to smooth out the shading.











Here's a video of this step:







Here's the photo from this step:


Carrie Underwood Portrait third value
Third Stage of Values in Carrie Underwood Portrait

In the last phase of this drawing, I smoothed out the transition between values, added detail to the eyes and other features. I then added details to the hair and clothing, After several hours of work, I was finally finished with the portrait. I was really happy with how it turned out. I felt like I had really improved my drawing skills by taking on this challenge.







Here's a video for this step:







Here is a time lapse of the full drawing:



Here are some tips for improving your drawing skills:

  • Practice regularly. The more you draw, the better you will become.

  • Use reference photos. This can help you to learn about proportions and shading.

  • Don't be afraid to experiment. Try different techniques and see what works best for you.

  • Be patient. It takes time to improve your drawing skills. Don't get discouraged if you don't see results immediately.


I hope this blog post has inspired you to try drawing a graphite portrait of your favorite celebrity. It's a great way to improve your drawing skills and have some fun at the same time.


Here are some additional tips for drawing a graphite portrait:

  • Start with a light pencil and build up the shading gradually. This will help you to avoid making mistakes.

  • Use a variety of pencils to create different levels of darkness. This will add depth and realism to your portrait.

  • Don't be afraid to blend the shading. This will help to create a smooth transition between the different tones.

  • Take your time and be patient. Drawing a graphite portrait takes time and effort, but it is a rewarding experience.

I hope these tips help you to create a beautiful graphite portrait of your favorite celebrity.


I hope you enjoyed this post and maybe even learned something. If so, please leave a comment telling me what you enjoyed or liked. I would love to know your thoughts on this post. Make sure to come back frequently to see when I post new drawings.


Also,  I want to express my sincere gratitude to each and every one of you for taking the time to explore my recent blog post. Your engagement and support mean the world to me. If you've been captivated by the featured drawing or any other pieces showcased on my website, they are available for purchase. Additionally, I welcome the opportunity to create a custom piece just for you. If you have a specific vision or if there's someone special you'd like me to draw, feel free to reach out. You can contact me via email at artbymikelsean@gmail.com. Your interest and enthusiasm fuel my passion for art, and I look forward to the possibility of turning your creative ideas into beautiful, personalized works. Thank you once again for being a part of my artistic journey. 

  

Warm regards, 

Mikel Sean

3 views0 comments

© 2023 by Art by Mikel Sean

bottom of page