top of page

Drawing a Graphite Portrait of Lebron James

Updated: Nov 29, 2023

Realistic graphite portrait of Lebron James
Graphite Portrait of Lebron James

Lebron James is one of the most famous and influential basketball players of all time. He has won four NBA championships, four MVP awards, and two Olympic gold medals. He is also a philanthropist, an entrepreneur, and an activist. He is widely regarded as one of the greatest athletes in history.

If you are a fan of Lebron James, you might want to check out this portrait of him. In this blog post, I will show you how I drew a graphite portrait of Lebron James, using a reference photo and some basic drawing tools.




What I used:


  • H, D, 3D, & 5D graphite pencils

  • ruler

  • proportional divider

  • circle template

  • kneaded eraser

  • Tombow Mono Zero eraser

  • blending stumps

  • tortillions

  • cotton swabs

  • white paint pen

  • and 8x12 Strathmore 400 Series drawing paper.


Here are the steps I followed:


Step 1: Sketch a Loomis Head

The first step is to sketch a basic Loomis head. This helps with the basic thirds. If you are not aware of the basic thirds: the theory is that most,  but not all adult heads are spaced evenly between the hair line, the brow line, the nose line, and the chin. The space between the lines should be an equal three spaces.


Step 2: Add the Reilly method

The Reilly method is a way of drawing the face using shapes and rhythmic lines to represent the proportions and flow of the features. It helps to create a likeness and accuracy of the portrait, as well as a sense of life and movement. When using this method, make sure draw lightly and loosely, as you will erase some of the lines later.


Here’s a video of me using these two methods:


Step 3: Shade the values

The next step I like to do is to shade the values and create the illusion of depth and texture. You can use different levels of pressure and strokes to create different shades of gray, but I like to use different hardness of pencils to get the varying values. In this step, I will usually add a 3 to 5 value range depending upon the reference photo.


Here is a video of how I did this step in my drawing of Lebron James:


Step 4: Add the details

The next step is to add the details. Use a blending stump, tissue, or a cotton swab to smooth out the values and create soft transitions. I use a harder pencil to had the half tone to create a gradient between the values. Then I use a kneaded eraser to lift off some highlights and add contrast. I try to pay attention to the shapes and sizes of each feature, and try to capture the expression and personality of Lebron James. I use darker lines to define the edges, contours, and add more depth.


Here is a video of how I finished my Lebron James portrait:


If you want to see the whole drawing from start to finish then check it out here:


Some Fun Facts

Here are some fun facts about Lebron James that you might not know:

  • Lebron James was born in Ohio and started playing basketball when he was nine years old.

  • Lebron James skipped college and entered the NBA draft when he was 18 years old. He was selected by his hometown team, the Cleveland Cavaliers.

  • Lebron James has played for three teams in his career: the Cleveland Cavaliers, the Miami Heat, and the Los Angeles Lakers.

  • Lebron James has a tattoo on his chest that says “Chosen 1”, which was a title given to him by a Sports Illustrated cover when he was in high school.

  • Lebron James has founded several organizations and initiatives to help children and communities, such as the Lebron James Family Foundation, the I Promise School, and More Than A Vote.


I hope you enjoyed this post and learned something new. If you decide to draw a picture of Lebron, feel free to share your results in the comments below. Also, I want to express my sincere gratitude to each and every one of you for taking the time to explore my recent blog post. Your engagement and support mean the world to me. If you've been captivated by the featured drawing or any other pieces showcased on my website, they are available for purchase. Additionally, I welcome the opportunity to create a custom piece just for you. If you have a specific vision or if there's someone special you'd like me to draw, feel free to reach out. You can contact me via email at artbymikelsean@gmail.com. Your interest and enthusiasm fuel my passion for art, and I look forward to the possibility of turning your creative ideas into beautiful, personalized works. Thank you once again for being a part of my artistic journey. 

  

Warm regards, 

Mikel Sean 

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2023 by Art by Mikel Sean

bottom of page